Cross Training and Reflections

Today is officially my last full day at school! Definitely bitter-sweet. It has been a ROUGH year but thank goodness it’s ending on a good note.

I spent 3/4 of the year counting calories, avoiding people, going to bed at 8:30 and finishing my homework weeks (or months) before it was due.

201105101106.jpg

I still love my early bedtimes but I’ve realized I on occasion want to stay up late and be with people! What a shocker I know.

Since spring break I have stopped counting calories, stopped weighing myself, broken most of my food rules (I say most because I still won’t eat trans fat or things with an ingredient list longer than my iTunes library), gotten to a healthy weight and made some amazing new friends. While still managing to keep my grades in check and my workouts where I like them, something my ED told me was not possible (well he can shut the F up, just saying)

201105101105.jpg

Another HUGE accomplishment that I had was going out to dinner with one of my new “friends” . I didn’t look at the menu online first, I didn’t insist on leaving food on my plate (although I did but only because I was full) and I didn’t insist on demolishing it all because if I don’t clearly I “still have an eating disorder”.

As for running, I’m not even trying right now. I tried last Friday and it did not work. My half is on Sunday *gulp* so I’m gently cross training all week and will try to get through a couple of miles on Thursday or Friday once I’m home to see if I can. My other options are dropping to the 10K or being the best cheerleader ever for my mom and sister =).

201105101109.jpg(Rough day)

This is why cross training is so important. Not only to prevent injury and boredom but also to keep you fit during an injury. If I didn’t already know about and love cycling and lifting I would have nothing to do at this time.

Benefits of Cross Training

  • Reduces exercise boredom
  • Allows you to be flexible about you training needs and plans (if the pool is closed, you can go for a run instead).
  • Produces a higher level of all around conditioning
  • Conditions the entire body, not just specific muscle groups
  • Reduces the risk of injury
  • Work some muscles while others rest and recover
  • Can continue to train while injured
  • Improves your skill, agility and balance

Source

I also plan of some good hot yoga classes and a sports massage when I get home! It will be my first one, I’m EXCITED.

Please don’t even ask me what I’ve eaten over the past few days. My fridge currently has cottage cheese, peanut butter, a sweet potato and ketchup in it. I’ve been eating more meals at school so basically it’s been

Cereal

Hummus sandwiches

Peanut butter in whole wheat tortillas

raw oats and cottage cheese

An Amy’s microwave black bean casserole meal

The first thing I am eating when I get home is a salad the size of my kitchen table201105101119.jpg

Vegetables, please come back to me =(.

I’m almost done packing (without any tears!!) and then off to try to entertain myself for the day!

Peace!

Caitlin

How do you cross train?

Tell me about finding balance in your life!

How has your year up to this point been?

Does anyone want to mail me some greens? PLEASE?!

2 responses to “Cross Training and Reflections

  1. Good advice Caitlin. You can’t life life on a diet so finding ways to making healthy choices a lifestyle that works for you is key!

  2. Enjoy your sports massage and being home!

    Also, I’m right in the injured boat with you. I have pulled both of my hip flexors, and conference is Friday. Ice, ice baby!

Leave a Reply

