What I Know

Sarah Kay is an amazing spoken word poet. In this video she talks about how she encourages students to write poetry about what they “know to be true”.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0snNB1yS3IE

The video is a little long but completely amazing and worth watching, even just the first 5 minutes.

Here are 10 things I know to be true

1) 2+2=4

2) I felt pretty all day today

3) I only have 3 weeks left of classes

4) I have a surprise for you all this weekend!

5) I love my family

6) I am excited for tomorrow night (it’s my friends birthday!!)

7) I was unhappy to wake up to this

DSCI0003.JPG

seriously? I wore sandals yesterday

8) I love running

9) I am currently eating toast

10) I sincerely appreciate anyone who is reading this

I think this is a great exercise even if you are just feeling overwhelmed by something in the middle of the day. It helps you come back to reality. It can be fun and silly, serious or just some straight facts. Try it next time you need to come back down to earth!

What else I know to be true is that I woke up sick, really sick =(. My appetite has NOT been on point.

DSCI0005.JPG

I had a salad for lunch but sadly did not enjoy it at all

DSCI0011.JPG

“Dinner”

I also had a yogurt bowl for breakfast and some random other snickerdoodles, peanut butter, cheerios and fruit throughout the day.

I WILL BE BETTER TOMORROW

Peace!

Caitlin

Tell me some things you know to be true

8 responses to “What I Know

  1. AMAZING video – love, love, loved it :). “I can” and “I will”. . .perfect! Thanks for sharing!

  2. A few things I know to be true:
    – life is better if you eat chocolate every day
    – no one loves you like a dog
    – you should hug someone for at least 5 seconds every day

  3. The Balanced Bean

    Ah hope you feel better soon!! I know that your salad and toast look really delish right now 🙂

  4. New reader to your blog, just wanted to say hi 🙂

  5. Some things I know to be true:
    I’m in love with peanut butter.
    I feel 1000 percent better when I exercise.
    Coffee is a necessity.

    Hope you feel better, missy!

Leave a Reply

