Rock-a-Bye

201104071100.jpg

I was KNOCKED OUT last night. I woke up after 9 hours of drooling (not a joke), my pillows everywhere all wrapped in blankets, It was amazing.

I don’t have bad history of insomnia but it tends to run in my family and I had a rough time with it earlier this year. Here are some things I do to help myself get those precious hours of shut eye.

1) Do you best to get on a regular schedule. I know this may seem impossible for college students but truly I prioritize sleep at night. I am very productive during the day so at night I don’t feel a need to stay up late doing work .

201104071104.jpg

2) Choose your nighttime snack wisely. Having something really sugary right before I climb in bed keeps me up on my computer for hours. I try to go for a little bowl of cereal, fruit or peanut butter toast.

3) Regular exercise. One of the many benefits!

4) Deep breathing. When all else fails, I lye in bed, clothes my eyes and count backwards from 100. Each number I take a deep breath. I normally never make it past 80.

When I woke up this morning feeling so refreshed I bounced over to the gym to complete 60 minutes on the bike with intervals and a very easy 10 minute cool down on the ET.

DSCI0006.JPG

In case you were curious if I get tired of overnight oats… no I don’t.

1/3 cup oats

1 scoop chocolate protein

1 tbsp chia

skim milk

stevia

cinnamon

leftover PB

topped with banana, dried cranberries and flax

DSCI0007.JPG

blurry layers of goodness. Plus some blueberry green tea that I got last night, it’s delicious!

Peace!

Caitlin

Do you suffer from sleep issues? How do you deal with it?

Are you a messy or clean sleeper? I am the craziest sleeper every. I often have to my sheets back on my bed in the morning.

Foods you can never imagine getting tired of? Any nut butter, overnight oats, chocolate, hummus, cereal, trail mix, pretzels, spinach, baby carrots

One response to “Rock-a-Bye

  1. i def suffer from sleep issues- ever since i was a baby! my mind is ALWAY rushing around and it NEVER shuts up.. always takes me 1 hour plus to fall asleep once im in bed. đŸ˜¦

Leave a Reply

