My Love Story

I have something personal to share with you all. About a year ago, I fell in love, extremely in love. I need my love every morning. I never forget about it, I can’t function without it. 201106050837.jpg

Breakfast, I love you.

I realized how strong my love is when I woke up this morning slightly cranky and tired. I immediately decided to skip early morning yoga and thought I should take a complete rest day. I stumbled downstairs, made a yogurt oatmeal bowl and within 2 minutes of eating felt better and ready to take on the day.

I know not everyone shares my love, but oh I wish they did! I actually have never really been a breakfast skipper however for most of high school and my freshman year of college the options were basically


201106050844.jpg 201106050844.jpg


201106050845.jpg


201106050845.jpg ONLY and apple….


201106050846.jpg

Or of course if I are breakfast in the dining hall something like this


201106050848.jpg 201106050848.jpg

But I also had pizza as an after school snack so there you go.

When I decided to lose weight (initially in the healthy way) the first thing I knew was I had to get breakfast under control. I’d always read about the benefits of eating a good, filling breakfast

  • Breakfast enhances your body’s metabolism.
  • Eating breakfast improves your daily nutrient consumption. Even a simple breakfast can provide you with a great amount of vitamins like vitamin B6, A, minerals like calcium, iron, etc.
  • Breakfast is essential for improving your concentration and productivity throughout the day.
  • It is also observed that eating a healthy breakfast plays an important role in controlling weight gain.
  • Eating breakfast also reduces the risk of heart diseases and is also essential in checking your cholesterol levels.
  • Breakfast keeps you energized the whole day and controls your hunger pangs and snacking urges.

I got into a rotation of either oatmeal of cheerios with skim milk and strawberries, occasionally scrambled egg whites with veggies and on the weekend one big pancake with flavored yogurt and fruit or a whole wheat bagel sandwich with cream cheese and veggies.

This was January of 2010 and I have eaten breakfast every single day since. Obviously my tastes have evolved


201106050856.jpg

Protein Bakes


201106050857.jpg

Microwave Pancakes

201106050900.jpg

AMAZING YOGURT BOWLS


201106050949.jpg

Breakfast Cookie Dough

And of course


201106050902.jpg


201106050902.jpg


201106050952.jpg

Oatmeal/ Overnight oats <3 <3 <3

This morning I enjoyed a yogurt parfait, not pictured but it was greek yogurt, oats, rice chex, a banana, truvia, and cinnamon in an almost gone almond butter jar. Delicious =).

Alright, I must decide what to do with my day. Have a great Sunday all!

Peace!

Caitlin

What’s your all time favorite breakfast? Ignore nutrition! All time, ignoring nutrition… either french toast or a big blueberry muffin with sugar on top like from Panera or Starbucks.

Favorite summer time fruit? Cherries!

Pick my workout please! Power walk? Vinyasa Yoga? Zumba?

8 responses to “My Love Story

  1. my oh my how ur bfasts have evolved!!! they are yummy! i LOVE Brekki! pancakes probably!! let meknow what workout u chose!

  2. Breakfast is glorious isn’t it?! I too am deeply in love haha! Let’s see, ignoring nutrition, I still REALLY like my big bowls of oats, buuuut I might have to choose thick and fluffy restaurant pancakes with nuts and maple syrup!

  3. I LOVE breakfast, and b fast food. We have breakfast for dinner on my birthday. I like eggs with veggies and hasbrowns. And black coffee – a LOT of it.

  4. French toast!

  5. cheers to breakfast!!

    You should be proud of how well you turned your health around!!

    Poptaaaaaaaaarts! I always see one of my TAs at school eating those, and it makes me wonder! I would neverrrrrrrr stay full off of that!

  6. Great post! I’m going back and looking at all your breakfast recipes… they look sooo good! Whats your absolute favorite?

    • Aw thanks! Breakfast is the greatest, especially after a good run!! I LOOVE yogurt bowls, there’s so much you can do with them plus I love to have different textures. Also, it’s not up there but a sweet potato with yogurt, cinnamon, coconut butter and raisins is to die for!

Leave a Reply

